Carla Acheson

Historical Fiction Author

The Rock Writer’s Group Short Story Competition 2010 revealed its winners last night at a function at the Eliott Hotel Gibraltar.

The First Prize Trophy and Certificate was awarded to Jason Kurt Easter for his short story ‘Love’s Melancholy.’

The three Highly Commended Certificates were awarded to the following:

  • Christina Cortes for her short story ‘A Gift For Her’
  • John Carreras for his short story ‘How Much Do You Love Me’
  • Beverly Romano Fernandez for her short story ‘Jewel’

The winning story will be published in a book by Sonia Golt entitled ‘Love Letters I Never Mailed’, and anthology which will also include 40 guest poets.

The panel of judges for the competition were myself, Sonia Golt and Berenice Aguilera.


5 Things Your Readers Hate

1. AMBIGUITY Basically anything in your story that is uncertain or unclear, or puzzles the reader and really shouldn’t. This doesn’t, by the way, extend to the premise of a ‘whodunnit’ because ambiguity is a great tool used in the crime genre to create suspense.…

You Can Finish Your Book in 2020

Every writer faces worries and doubts during the writing process, but allowing setbacks to prevent you from achieving your goal is the game-changer between finding success and ending up back at the starting line. Here’s some advice on how to tackle these common niggly issues.…